2017-01 Magic & Mystery

This season, Strathfield Symphony takes a glimpse into magic and mystery through the music of Dukas, Strauss, Tchaikovsky, Bizet and Massenet.

To quote Walt Disney, our concert season will be ‘started by a mouse.’ We begin with Dukas’ Sorcerers Apprentice, made famous through the mischievous actions of Mickey Mouse, before moving on to works by both Strauss Senior and Strauss Junior.

We progress onto the Suite from Massenet’s Opera; Le Cid, telling to story of Rodrigue and his complicated love life, before finally showcasing works from Bizet’s enticing Carmen. Our season will finish with the story of a beautiful princess, a sleeping enchantment, and a handsome prince, through the music of Tchaicovksy’s The Sleeping Beauty.

Following a commended 2016 year, featuring Beethoven’s 9th Symphony, Symphonie Fantastique, and John William’s Star Wars, Strathfield Symphony invites audiences to join us once again on our musical journey for 2017. This year will showcase wonderful fairy tales, marches and waltzes, Beethoven’s Violin Concerto featuring Alastair Duff-Forbes, an action-packed evening at the Opera, and finally a story of love, heartbreak and despair, through Tchaikovsky’s wonderful ballet, Swan Lake.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s