2013 Season 2 – Murakami’s Music

Sneak peek of tonight’s concert!

2013 Season 2 PosterStrathfield Symphony Orchestra will explore the fantastical worlds of Haruki Murakami, described by The Guardian as “among the world’s greatest living novelists”, in a concert on 22 June 2013 at 7pm at Marrickville Town Hall.

Murakami uses music as an integral part of his novels. The Wind-up Bird Chronicle starts with the overture to The Thieving Magpie by Rossini, setting the tone, if not the pace, for the entire book. The orchestra next undertakes Janacek’s Sinfonietta which appears all the way through IQ84, a theme or leitmotiv to weave around his parallel worlds. Rarely heard live because of its massive brass requirements – no less than 4 horns, 12 trumpets, 2 bass trumpets, 4 trombones, tuba and 2 tenor tubas  – this is a challenge that could not be resisted by the Strathfield Symphony. And finally in Norwegian Wood, the novel that launched him to fame in Japan, Murakami references Brahms’ monumental Fourth Symphony. This magnificent piece brings the concert to an end.

Our Japanese born Chief Conductor and Music Director, Sadaharu Muramatsu, brings an East/West sensibility to match Murakami’s. Don’t miss it.

Book early as seating is limited.

Read the Concert Program

View the publicity bookmark